Posted by: jodester87 | April 19, 2009

Bonjour Paris

Easter Break 2009

April 10, 2009

A litler after one pm my friend and I arrived in Paris via Charles de Gaulle Airport. I’ve been wanting to visit the city since I started taking French when I was 13 years old. After getting up early in order to make it to Luton Airport on time, Joyce and I were rather tired. Every piece of advice we were given regarding Paris was forgotten. We ended up spending 48.40 euros on a 5 day pass (buses, trains, etc). Tear out my heart why don’t they. After figuring that out we got on an express train that was going to take us to the Denfert Rochereau stop on line B. Immediately getting on the train I’m hit with the putrid smell of piss and stale beer. Ew.  I also knew when we boarded the train that we were going to be late checking into our hostel. I had been hoping that it wouldn’t be too long. Well one stop after the airport the train was held at the platform. Don’t ask me why because I couldn’t understand the explaination.

We finally got underway and made it to Gare du Nord. After that is was smooth sailing to our stop. We could have switched line to gett off at a stop closer to our hostel but I just wanted to find the place. So we walked down Saint Jacques Boulevard and eventually found FIAP Jean Monnet. We checked in and rested before going out for dinner. The place is very much like a small dorm room. There are two bed, desks, closets, shelves, and a private bathroom. There’s a courtyard outback where people smoke and socialize. there’s not much of a view, ianly residential buildings. When we first walked in I had to open a window because it was stuffy. Joyce unpacked some of her things before taking a nap. We decided not to do much since we were both tired from our journey there. Joyce was falling asleep on the Metro. Our game plan for th time we are here is to not rush to see everything but thoroughly enjoy what we did see. Saturday we’ll meet up with Sarah at Notre Dame and spend the day with her. Hopefully this Easter Break won’t break my bank account.

We ate dinner at the cafeteria at the hostel. No bad pricing. Afterwards we explored the premises briefly before heading back to the room. We both needed a shower and relaxing before we explore the City of Love

(Off topice: If Rome is the Eternal City and Paris is the City of Love, what is London?)

Leave a Reply

Categories

