Posted by: jodester87 | February 7, 2010

WTF Winter 2010

I attend college in Virginia. The south right? Now correct me if I am wrong, but isn’t the south known for being warm and having mild winters(among a few other less honorable things that don’t bear mentioning). So why am I digging my car out from snow in southwestern Virginia? Someone call Al Gore because I do believe that it is not global warming. I am also born and raised in the Southwest where winter is 50 degrees Fahrenheit. Granted, we would have those random icy days (can’t really call it snow) that would cancel everything, so yeah as a kid I liked it. But having to trudge through knee-high snow to get to the cafeteria, and you can’t drive because the roads are icy or your car is stuck, is not my idea of a good time. If anyone claims that this is all due to global climate change…well duh the climate is constantly changing. I mean the earth has had an ice age, it goes through periods of warming and cooling but recorded history is not nearly long enough to determine if we are not just going through another period of this. I will admit that yes human impact is there, but how much I cannot be certain because hey, I’m not a scientist.

Anyway, snow…it’s everywhere. And of course where they salt it’s sludge and damages cars. Oh yay expensive bodywork. Then where they shovel, more sludge, yay wet feet. Yesterday my apartment mate and I went to lunch and the snow plow for the school was doing this NASCAR (winter edition) would-be speed around the campus. Well we’re on its side of the road. It doesn’t slow down. We run across the street into a knee-deep snow bank (I do not have snow shoes) and the driver is laughing. Oh what a well-aimed ice-snowball could do, but he was long gone by then. Then of course the city has plowed the streets but the sidewalks are not shoveled. Then where we usually cross the street to enter campus…well the snow has piled up to where the students are climbing over waist-high piles in order to press the cross walk button and get across the street.

I will admit that when the snow first falls it is very pretty, almost makes everything seem pristine and in a way virginal. But when it melts it’s disgusting. Of course at night it freezes again, creating the hated black ice, which is why I have not been able to go out and get supplies for the Superbowl, which is afterall a great past time of many families, including my own.

So since the start of the new year, I have been in two fairly decent snow storms (but significant for me since hey I’m not use to them) and we’re expecting another one on Tuesday. Lovely (said with much sarcasm). I guess it would be nice to get a sizeable jump-start on all my course readings. (Watch the ooze that was once my brain puddle around me as I read about subjects I could care less about but they are just filler classes because nothing else seemed interesting).

That’s it for now. There’s no use giving 80 words to snow and attempt to make it entertaining when it’s not. Maybe the next snowstorm will be more entertaining. Perhaps the cafeteria will close and the National Guard will have to be called in to feed us…hmm I’m sure the women on my campus would love that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

